The World’s End

Image

And so it ends. The Cornetto Trilogy. And, my my, does it end with a bang. The team that is Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg and Nick Frost return with another ridiculous yet hilarious collaboration which, this time round, explores the apocalypse. I have anticipated this film’s release for such a long time and I have to say, I was pleasantly rewarded for the long wait. However, there has been a fair amount of unpopular opinion about the film, saying that it has left the previous two down, or that the ending is unrealistic. Let’s take a look, shall we?

Firstly, I’d just like to point out that the King on The King’s Head sign is…well…Simon Pegg.

Image

To differ from the previous two, Simon Pegg’s character, Gary King, is actually the one who makes all the mistakes and is a downright idiot, as opposed to Nick Frost, who plays lawyer, Andy Knightley. The narrative revolves around Gary’s mission to reunite the same group of boys, himself, Andy, Ollie (Martin Freeman), Peter (Eddie Marsan) and Steve (Paddy Considine), to complete The Golden Mile, a pub crawl, at their old hometown, Newton Haven. Little do they know, the town has been taken over by The Network, or should I say, smashy, smashy egg men. In the past, the goofy characters that Nick Frost usually play are complete idiots but also have a level of charm to them. Gary King is quite the opposite. Whilst he is absolutely hilarious, and has some of the best lines in the film (one being ‘Get back in your rocket and f*ck off back to Legoland, you c*nts!’…brilliant.), he is hard not to find insufferable. Having said that though, there is an air of sadness to his character as well, seeing as he is quite obviously completely stuck in the past, at the moment he was last happy – attempting the Golden Mile with the others – and so, I couldn’t help but feel sorry for him throughout the duration of the film. Generally, I found everybody awesome in this. The others do a great job of showing how they are grateful to be in each other’s company again, but also hesitant of Gary’s presence, whilst at the same time believably portraying the change in their mindset since they first set out to conquer the Golden Mile. Although naturally Gary and Andy get slightly more screen time, the others get a fair amount of exposure, which allows us to get to know each individual and their traits well enough throughout the course of the film.

Image

As a stand alone film, The World’s End would still be hilarious, but it would be nothing without the reference’s the the previous two films and re-occuring themes and style that make the trilogy a work of genius. The way I would describe The World’s End would probably be the love-child of Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz with a shit tonne of money added to the mix to achieve everything they couldn’t in the first two, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. In fact, I’d say it was rather well deserved! For what happens in the movie, it would be extremely hard to do on Shaun of the Dead’s budget of around £4,000,000. When I say this, of course I am speaking strictly about the closing half of the film, which if you have seen, you would understand what I’m talking about. One of my favourite aspects of the film which is similar to a scene in Shaun of the Dead is the very subtle foreshadowment that is really rather satisfactory once you realise it the second time viewing it. If you didn’t notice when you watched it, I’ll give you a somewhat convoluted clue; http://martyfreethrow.tumblr.com/post/43153111230 So just keep an eye out for the forshadowing the next time you see it (if you do re-watch it that is…) because I thought it was genius. Damn, I love the Cornetto Trilogy so much. There’s also a scene the I felt pays homage to the opening credits of Shaun of the Dead where all the main characters and the inhabitants of the Newton Haven are walking in sinc to Whiskey Bar/Alabama Song by The Doors (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DX42_3ZKv8c) which, even when I think of, gives me the giggles. If you rewatch the opening credits of Shaun of the Dead, you may understand what I mean; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZmjsWAfn14 The music itself is very similar!

Maybe I should perhaps address the negatives of the film, which I felt were very few. A friend of mine, who adores Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz, said to me that he felt quite disappointed with the way the film ends. Of course I am not going to talk explicitly about the outcome of the film, and I will try very hard not to spoil it, but I do have to agree with him to a certain extent. This is only because, unlike Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz, the ending isn’t at all likely/plausible. It seems a little detached from the rest of the story, but I saw it almost as a way of saying ‘This really is the end of the Cornetto Trilogy’. Seeing as the actual resolution of the events that take place in Newton Haven isn’t shown for long at all, I can overlook it!

To conclude, I thought The World’s End is probably one of the best comedy films 2013 will bring us, and after waiting 6 years after Hot Fuzz for the finale of the trilogy, it has been well worth the wait. The film gives the apocalypse genre a quintessentially British run for it’s money, and brings a fantastically over-the-top close to the series; the Cornetto Trilogy will always be a personal favourite and I regard Wright, Pegg and Frost almost as idols for what they’ve achieved.

Image

The World’s End

Leave a Reply

